UPDATED: Deadline passes for August candidate qualification

Early voting for the May 1st primaries in Anderson County begins Wednesday April 11th but the deadline to qualify as a candidate in the August county general election was noon today.

The county general election will feature the winners of the May primaries for county offices facing off (where applicable) as well as all 16 seats on the County Commission and seats on the County School Board, along with primary races for seats in the General Assembly in Nashville, and others.

Here is a look at the candidate list.

In Commission District 1, incumbents Chuck Fritts and Tracy Wandell are facing challenges from Felicia Foust, Floyd Grisham, Avery Johnson and Tim Risden.

In Commission District 2, incumbent Rick Meredith has qualified while longtime Commissioner Mark Alderson has not picked up a petition to run for another term. Meredith is joined on the ballot by Robert Jameson, Jeff Maxwell and David Queener.

In Commission District 3, incumbent Phil Warfield is facing challenges from Joshua Anderson, John Meyer and Denver Waddell. Fellow District 3 Commissioner Steve Emert is challenging incumbent County Mayor Terry Frank in the ucoming primary and is not on the ballot for the August Commission race.

In Commission District 4, incumbents Tim Isbel and Shain Vowell will face a challenge from Tabitha Harmon.

District 5 incumbents Robert McKamey and Jerry White will face a challenge from Chris Silver.

District 6 incumbents Catherine Denenberg and Steve Mead will be challenged by Anthony Allen.

In Commission District 7, incumbents Jerry Creasey and Theresa Scott opposed by Jimmy Bouchard and Denny Phillips.

Incumbent District 8 Commissioners Bob Smallridge and Phil Yager are also facing no challenges.

All the races for Anderson County School Board are one-horse affairs, with incumbents Jo Williams, Teresa Portwood and Don Bell all unopposed as they seek re-election. Christopher Gillenwaters has qualified to seek the seat in District 6 on the School Board.

State-level races will have their primaries in August and, in the State Senate race, incumbent Senator and Lt. Governor Randy McNally is unopposed in the Republican primary. Stuart Starr is qualified for the Democratic primary in August.

Two Democrats have qualified to seek their party’s nomination to challenge incumbent Republican State Representative John Ragan in the November election. Richard Dawson and Nathaniel Varner will face off in the August primary for the seat representing the 33rd District in Nashville.

One constable race features more than one candidate and that is in District 2, where Jason Stokes is challenged by Eugene Chaney and Shannon Gray. In District 3, Lawson Bates is unopposed for Constable as is District 4’s Frederick Gilliam.

The final day to register to vote if you are not already in time to be able to take part in the August 2nd election is July 3rd. Early voting for the August election will run from July 13th through the 28th.

For information, visit www.acelect.com.

Here is a link to the full candidate list for the August 2nd county general election.

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:20 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH & WQLA. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, his mother-in-law and cats Lucius and Oliver.

Check Also

Warrant served following drug innvestigation

Early Wednesday morning, authorities in Campbell County conducted another narcotics search warrant, this time at …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *