OR’s Higgins among Mr. Football winners

(TSSAA) Tennessee’s best high school football players for 2015 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee.
More than 400 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2015 luncheon at Nissan Stadium.
“This is such an outstanding honor for all 33 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA.  “They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”  
High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2015 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.
The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the eight classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school’s classification.
The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.
Division I, Class 1A Lineman                              Division I, Class 1A Back
Daniel Bituli, Nashville Christian                         Dresser Winn, Dresden
Division I, Class 2A Lineman                              Division I, Class 2A Back
Boone Sweeney, Forrest                                        Andrew Goldsmith, Trinity Christian
Division I, Class 3A Lineman                              Division I, Class 3A Back
Jonathan Decker, Alcoa                                         Traneil Moore, East Ridge
Division I, Class 4A Lineman                              Division I, Class 4A Back
Emmit Gooden, Haywood                                      Amari Rodgers, Knoxville Catholic
Division I, Class 5A Lineman                              Division I, Class 5A Back
Tyrel Dodson, Centennial                                      Tee Higgins, Oak Ridge
Division I, Class 6A Lineman                              Division I, Class 6A Back
T.D. Blackmon, Maryville                                        Dillon Mitchell, White Station
Division II-A Lineman                                            Division II-A Back
Trey Smith, University School of Jackson           Chase Hayden, St. George’s
Division II-AA Lineman                                         Division II-AA Back
Ryan Parker, Baylor                                                            Ty Chandler, MBA
Kicker of the Year
Crews Holt, Ravenwood

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:30 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, and cats Oliver, Bow and Libby.

Check Also

TWRA opens public comment period on fishing regulations

TWRA has opened up the period for public comments in advance of setting its 2024 …